Prepare to soar into a brand new dragon series

Book One of the Dragon Apocalypse
by James Maxey

Arriving 31st January (US & Canada) and 2nd February (US)

£7.99 (UK) ISBN 978-1-907992-73-5
$8.99/$10.99 (US & CAN) ISBN 978-1907992-72-8

Available as an ebook

Solaris is proud to present the first in a breathtaking new trilogy by one of its most popular authors: Greatshadow is the first book in the Dragon Apocalypse series by James Maxey, author of the Dragon Age series.
The Church of the Book has assembled a team of twelve battle-hardened adventurers to slay Greatshadow, the evil elemental dragon who spies through every candle flame, once and for all.

But tensions run high between the leaders of the team who view the mission as a holy duty and the superpowered mercenaries who add power to their ranks, who view this as a chance to claim Greatshadow’s vast treasure. If the warriors fail to slay the beast, will they doom mankind to death by fire?

A striking mix of adventure, fantasy and lurking menace, Greatshadow promises to be the beginning of a stand-out new series in 2012, written by a real master of the genre.

“…a book that feels like fantasy but is, at core, smart science fiction. It feels like — and is — a magnificent hero story.”
– Orson Scott Card on James Maxey’s Bitterwood

About the Author
James Maxey lives in Hillsborough, NC with his lovely bride Cheryl and a clowder of unruly cats. His novels include the superhero tales Nobody Gets the Girl and Burn Baby Burn, and the Dragon Age trilogy of Bitterwood, Dragonforge, and Dragonseed. His latest fantasy series is an enthusiastic blend of the superhero and fantasy genres into the multi-book epic of the Dragon Apocalypse, beginning with Greatshadow in February 2012, followed by Hush in July 2012, and Witchbreaker in January 2013.
Maxey’s short fiction has appeared in numerous magazines and anthologies. His short story Empire of Dreams and Miracles was a Phobos Award winner, and his ghost tale Silent as Dust was included in the Year’s Best Science Fiction and Fantasy 2009 edition. These stories and others appear in his short story collection There is No Wheel. For more information on James and his writing, visit his blog at


DRC said...

Intriguing. Thanks for the heads up. I may just have to add this to my book mountain... :)

Nibbles said...

This one is right up my alley :)
Would LOVE a review copy - needs more dragon action!